Newer Scala on Ubuntu 14.04

Few months ago I wanted to do introductory Scala workshop at my Lambda Lounge group. So, I went through installing Scala on my Ubuntu laptop, and guess what? Ubuntu’s package distro is QUITE behind here. On my 14.04 I get Scala 2.9.2.

Google search tells me Scala 2.9.2 was news on 13.04.2012. Two years prior to Ubuntu’s 14.04 day zero (minus 13 days).

Now it’s even more dated and there have been large releases since (so all those shiny features are NOT there).

It also complains when you launch REPL if you have Java 8.

So, newer Scala was needed on my Ubuntu.

Scala download site gives you three options:

  1. download tarball – 25,9MB for Scala 2.11.5
  2. use Activator – only 477MB for “browser-based or command-line tool that helps developers get started with Scala”
  3. download IDE – 226MB for first option: Scala IDE based of Eclipse.

But I wanted the apt-get way.

  1. http://www.scala-lang.org/files/archive/
  2. find your version as Debian package (*.deb)
  3. wget or download it
  4. sudo dpkg -i fileName
  5. sudo apt-get update
  6. sudo apt-get install scala – should say Scala is in newest version already
Leave a Reply

